Social Security Disability FAQs | Workers Compensation Faqs | Melvin Cook
Read out frequently asked questions(FAQs) about the Divorce, Disability, workers compensation, father's rights and much more.
Logo 801-746-5075
9571 South 700 East, Suite 104 Sandy, , UT 84070
Call: 801-746-5075

FAQ

Social Security

What are the time limits on a Social Security disability benefits claim?

You are ineligible for benefits for the first five months — the “waiting period” — after the onset of your disability. Since the appeals process can last close to a year in many cases, you should file your claim as soon as you are eligible to do so.

Category: Social Security

What happens if I work while receiving Social Security disability benefits?

The government generally encourages people to work, even if they are disabled. Those receiving SSD payments and returning to work have at least a nine-month trial period, during which time they continue to receive full SSD benefits. After the trial period, if they continue working, the government reduces cash benefits by 50 cents for every dollar earned after the first $85. For example, if you earn $500 per month, your monthly cash benefits are reduced by $207.50 ($500 minus $85 divided by 2). Non-cash benefits may be unaffected.

Category: Social Security

Social Security

What is the difference between Social Security disability (SSD) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI)?

SSD gives money to workers who are disabled. According to the Social Security Administration (SSA), you must have worked long enough to pay a sufficient amount of taxes into the Social Security system. To meet the SSA definition of disabled, you:

  • Must not be working
  • Must have a severe condition
  • Must have a recognized disability
  • Must not be able to perform the work you performed previously
  • Must not be able to do any other type of work

SSI pays cash benefits to elderly, blind and disabled people to help them pay bills and meet basic needs. SSI is unrelated to Social Security taxes; eligibility is completely need-based.

Category: Social Security

Workers Compensation

What must I do when I am injured at work?

Injured workers must report the injury within seven days. In addition to mail and Internet, most companies have an 800 number you can call. Afterward, injured workers must see a company-designated physician. Once the doctor files a report, the insurance company has 21 days to approve or deny the claim.

What if my employer does not have workers compensation insurance?

Workers compensation insurance is an important protective measure for Utah workers. So, an employer without insurance can be fined up to three times the amount of the premium that would have been paid. In addition, it may be easier to sue your employer directly for the injuries you sustained.

What if my employer does not have workers compensation insurance?

Workers compensation insurance is an important protective measure for Utah workers. So, an employer without insurance can be fined up to three times the amount of the premium that would have been paid. In addition, it may be easier to sue your employer directly for the injuries you sustained.

Contact a Salt Lake City Attorney Committed to Protecting Your Rights

When it comes the family law and social security disability, each client and case is different. It is also important to select an attorney with the experience, skills and professionalism required to address your legal issues. To learn more, contact the Salt Lake City law offices of Melvin A. Cook and schedule an initial consultation to discuss your case.

* fields are required